If you aspire to become a solicitor in England and Wales, you may have heard about the Solicitors Qualifying Exam (SQE). The SQE is a new system introduced to assess the competence of prospective solicitors. This blog post will provide you with a comprehensive overview of the SQE, its structure, content, and the process to qualify as a solicitor through this examination.

What is the SQE?

The Solicitors Qualifying Exam (SQE) is a new assessment framework introduced by the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA) to replace the previous Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme (QLTS). It is designed to ensure consistency and high standards in assessing the competence of solicitors.

Structure of the SQE:

The SQE consists of two stages:

a. SQE Stage 1: This stage tests the functioning legal knowledge required for day-to-day practice. It includes two separate assessments:

Functioning Legal Knowledge (FLK) Assessment: A multiple-choice examination covering contract law, constitutional law, criminal law, and more.
Practical Legal Skills (PLS) Assessment: A series of skills-based tasks assessing practical legal skills, including client interviewing, legal research, and writing.

b. SQE Stage 2: This stage assesses the practical legal skills necessary for practice as a solicitor. It consists of a range of tasks based on real-world scenarios, including written and oral assessments, role-plays, and case and matter analysis.

Content Covered in the SQE:

The SQE covers a broad range of legal subjects and practical skills. Some of the key areas include:

Legal systems and theories
Dispute resolution
Business law and practice
Property law and practice
Wills and administration of estates
Criminal Litigation
Drafting and writing skills
Legal research and problem-solving
Qualifying as a solicitor through the SQE:
To qualify as a solicitor through the SQE, you must:

a. Complete a degree or equivalent qualification, or gain substantial work experience.
b. Pass both stages of the SQE.
c. Satisfy the SRA‘s character and suitability requirements.
d. Complete two years of qualifying work experience (QWE), which can be obtained before, during, or after passing the SQE.

Preparing for the SQE:

Preparing for the SQE requires careful planning and dedication.

Consider the following steps:

a. Research the SQE structure, content, and resources available.
b. Choose appropriate study materials and resources.
c. Create a study plan and allocate sufficient time for each subject and assessment.
d. Practice sample questions and mock exams to familiarise yourself with the format.
e. Seek support from training providers, mentors, or study groups.

The Solicitors Qualifying Exam (SQE) is a comprehensive assessment framework that ensures aspiring solicitors in England and Wales possess the necessary legal knowledge and practical skills. Understanding the structure, content, and requirements of the SQE will help you navigate the qualification process effectively. With thorough preparation and dedication, you can take the necessary steps to become a qualified solicitor and embark on a rewarding legal career.

Receive a Quote